2019 Annual Meeting

Date: Thursday, May 30

Time: 6 p.m.

Location: Jewish Community Center of Youngstown

Cost: $10/person (includes dinner) 

Registration is required by May 23. To register, call 330.746.3250 ext. 108 or email nsentelik@jewishyoungstown.org.  

Keynote Speaker: Cynthia M. Deitle

Deitle is the Matthew Shepard Foundation’s programs and operations director. She oversees their hate crimes work, community outreach, and events. Prior to joining the Matthew Shepard Foundation in 2017, Cynthia was a special agent with the Federal Bureau of Investigation for over 22 years, specializing in the fields of civil rights, community outreach, and victims’ assistance.

After entering on duty with the FBI in 1995, she spent ten years in the New York division. While there, Deitle served as the lead investigative agent for many high-profile police brutality investigations. Deitle also investigated a significant number of sensitive hate crimes cases. In 2007, Deitle assumed a supervisory special agent position in the Civil Rights Unit in FBI Headquarters. She was promoted to civil rights unit chief in 2008, where she was responsible for managing the FBI’s Hate Crimes, Color of Law, Human Trafficking and Abortion Extremism Programs on a national level.

Deitle received her Bachelor of Art’s degree from The Ohio State University and her juris doctor degree from New England Law Boston. She earned a master of laws degree in criminal law from New York University School of Law and a master of laws degree in constitutional law from the George Washington University National Law Center. She has also published several law review articles dealing with the right to bear arms in the Second Amendment, and police officers’ use of excessive force.

Awards will be presented to:

Abe Harshman Leadership Award - Wendy Weiss

Esther Marks Memorial Volunteer Service Award - Jeannie and Gerry Peskin 

Alan Kretzer, immediate past Federation president, and Harold Davis, immediate past Jewish Community Center advisory board president, will also be recognized for their work.

Back to top